Planning mode.

Dear baby,

Your daddy and I have started the adventures of planning for your arrival. He’s got the fire in his belly to complete some much-needed house projects, while I’m searching for childcare options and reading books and blogs on what to expect and purchase for when you arrive.

We’ve also started our rounds of shopping, but have yet to come home with anything. From baby boutiques to big-box stores to online shopping, there are quite a few options for what to get, most of it way more expensive than it needs to be. And it’s not like you’ll really notice the style of your crib, the rocker I nurse and soothe you to sleep on or the stroller I spend countless hours taking you for walks in. The stressful part of it all is making sure we are getting something safe and of good quality that doesn’t bust our budget.

In a few weeks will come the process of registering. We’ll look through seas of binkies, boppies and blankets and find ourselves researching car seats so we know what the best is for our baby. And while it seems like there’s a lot to do, I know it will all come together in the end. Your daddy says all we really need is a car seat so we can take you home from the hospital. He’s being silly, of course, but he says this to remind me to not sweat the small stuff. (Side note: I hope you get his laid-back, practical qualities and not my type-A tendencies. Although your daddy has his organizing, type-A side, too – he just doesn’t let it show as often.)

It feels as though the countdown has officially begun. We’ve crossed the halfway point and have 18 weeks to go. I am still feeling great and am so glad to hear our doctor say you are looking “perfect” so far. I am officially starting to look pregnant, and I finally broke down and bought my first pair of maternity jeans this weekend. They’re a little big, but I’m sure I will be fitting into them soon. 🙂

There’s a lot to do to get ready for you, and I know the weeks will fly by. Everything will come together and be just right when you get here.

With love,
Momma

Leave a Reply

