My promise.

Dear baby,

I can’t believe how close we’re getting to the end of this pregnancy journey. Time has flown, and this weekend marks six weeks until your due date. I can hardly believe that in just a couple months I will be your momma. Your little jabs, kicks and hiccups I will no longer feel in me, but I will finally get to see you. I will get to meet the precious gift that I have been waiting for.

I remember when I was little, the biggest anticipation was built up for Christmas each year. It wasn’t even just about the presents (although I’m not going to lie, I was pretty giddy about what my parents and Santa would bring me). It was also about the excitement of getting to see my extended family and spend time with my cousins, aunts, uncles and grandparents. I would even anticipate the goodies – the pie, the cookies, the mashed potatoes. I eagerly awaited it all. And when the time came, I always had a blast, but the time always went by way too quickly.

As I near the end of pregnancy and the anticipation of your arrival builds, I know that a new journey is just beginning. Parenthood is going to be the most exciting, challenging, demanding and rewarding job of my life. I have eagerly awaited this for so long, and I plan to savor every moment and milestone – because I know time will pass way too quickly.

I also want to make a promise to you tonight, baby. I see and hear too many parents publicly complain about the woes and struggles of being a parent and the things their children do. I know sometimes you need to vent, but there is a time and place for that. It is the continual public rants and complaints that just hurt my heart. I know they love their children, but there is no need to shame them. As a parent, you make that choice and you make sacrifices.

Which is why I promise that even when I am frustrated, when you cause so much trouble or do some incredibly gross bodily function and leave it all over the floor, I will never publicly complain about being your momma. I know it’s going to be hard. I know there will be days when I may question myself. But I know what I am signing up for. I would sacrifice anything for you. At the end of the day, you are my precious gift, my love, my baby. Nothing you do will ever change that.

Parenthood is going to be a roller coaster. Our journey is going to be one crazy and amazing adventure. And through it all I will always love you.

With love,
Momma

Leave a Reply

