Happy One Month Birthday!

Dear baby girl,

I can’t believe you’re one month old today!

Hannah 2
Pretty in pink! 

It feels like it’s only been a few days – time has flown by. With visitors coming and going and the Thanksgiving holiday, we have had a busy month filled with family and friends. And you of course!

Hannah 7
I got a sweet smile from you this morning! 

Somewhere in the midst of the first few sleepless days after you were born, in the wee hours of the morning when I was up with you, I was overwhelmed with this feeling that I needed to let go of the things that I worry about that don’t matter. I am pretty good at over-thinking things and being anxious about the unknown. Having a newborn baby where I need to learn as I go is a life-changing experience for me in many ways. I am not only experiencing the joys of raising you, but I am also feeling myself being challenged and changed as a person.

Last week, it hit me. The words “be still” were laid on my heart. As a person who loves crossing things off to-do lists and is always thinking about what needs to be done, these words hit home. I was stressing about things to do before the Thanksgiving holiday when I knew I needed to just be still.

God impressed on my heart that just as we need to be still before Him and be in His presence, I must also do the same with you. Enjoy you and our time together. Everything else can wait. Be still and be present. Embrace what matters most. In the midst of the chaos that is life, I must always remember to be still in our time together and not be worrying about other things I could or should be doing.

Since then, each day I am making sure to take moments to be still with you. Whether I am singing you to sleep, taking way too many pictures of you or holding you and feeling your tiny body rest against mine, I am embracing life as your momma. Everything else can wait.

Hannah 5
One of the many pictures of you I took of you today  🙂

I’m one month in, and I know the coming ones are going to go by just as quickly. Pretty soon I will be going back to work and this time together will be a treasure in my heart. I will find the time every day to be still with you, enjoy you and make sure you know just how much I love you.

With love,

Momma

One thought on “Happy One Month Birthday!

Leave a Reply

