Spring fever.

Dear baby girl,

It’s amazing what a little bit of sunshine can do for your mood. It’s a beautiful Saturday morning, and I sit here watching you take a nap in your swing, sipping on a hazelnut coffee, enjoying the peaceful quiet of the morning. You make little coos and sighs as you sleep, and it is pretty much the most adorable thing ever.

It has been a busy and tiring couple weeks, and today I am thankful for the rest. You had a good night of sleep last night, allowing for Momma and Daddy to feel more rested today as well. Work has been crazy for me, so I am very happy it is the weekend so I can relax and enjoy the time with you and your daddy. We’re going out shopping later for some flowers and landscaping items for the yard, and a walk will likely be on the agenda for this perfect spring day.

I am so excited that spring is finally here (this was seriously the coldest winter ever) and I look forward to doing many of my favorite summer activities with you:

Downtown Des Moines Farmers’ Market. This starts next weekend, and I am excited to try more adventures in babywearing in the crowds. There is so much good food to purchase and try – I can smell the Dutch letters and pupusas already.

Learning how to babywear. You liked it!

Learning how to babywear. You liked it!

Iowa Cubs. It would be fun to take you to your first baseball game! We haven’t been to a game for a while, and I’m not sure how you’d last, but taking in an afternoon of nachos, friends and baseball sounds like a great day to me. If we went to an evening game you’d get to see fireworks!

Walks around the neighborhood and Gray’s Lake. We’ve done this already, but I’m looking forward to many more walks and getting out more this summer. We were cooped up for far too long this winter! There are so many great walking paths around our neighborhood, and Gray’s Lake is a fun place to go if you don’t mind the crowds. From taking walks to lunching on patios to being in our yard, I am excited just to get outside and spend time with you.

Jazz in July. We haven’t done this for a couple years, but it would be fun to grab a blanket, some snacks and you and just sit outside enjoying the live music and each other’s company.

Iowa State Fair. By the time we go to the fair in late August, you may have more of an understanding and ability to enjoy some of the animals. Really, one of the main reasons I go is to try something new on a stick and other adventures in fried food, but it will be even more fun when you’re able to enjoy it with us.

Lots of family time. We have a wedding, expectant baby birth and family visits on the agenda this summer, and I look forward to seeing and spending time with everyone. I can’t wait to introduce you to your great grandma, great aunts and uncles, cousins and more!

It’s going to be a great spring and summer, and I’m so excited to spend it with you.

With love,

Momma

Leave a Reply

