My first Mother’s Day.

Dear baby girl,

It’s my first Mother’s Day today, and my heart is full. I feel blessed to be celebrating this day, and I couldn’t be more thankful or proud to be your momma.

Just one year ago – on Mother’s Day – is when we announced to the world that we were expecting your arrival. We made it “Facebook official” as they say, by posting the picture below.

IMG_7663

Needless to say, we were pretty ecstatic to be sharing the big news with everyone. I remember last year’s weather was pretty similar to today, with storms and tornadoes on the horizon. The weather is somewhat symbolic of our life’s journey at that time and now, as we were just coming out of and are now going through some storms in life. Your daddy and I have been through some hard times together, but no matter what curveballs we get thrown at us, we always seem to make it out on the other side stronger. Without each other, and without our faith, we wouldn’t be where we are today.

I am incredibly thankful that no matter what challenges I experience, I have your daddy and you alongside me to carry me through. And today, as I celebrate Mother’s Day, I am so thankful for my mom (your gammie), as well as the love and support of the rest of our family. It is the depth of our love for one another that blesses me the most. It is my hope and my goal for you to know and understand the love that I have for you. And, that the love we have for one another is just a glimpse of the unconditional love that God has for us as His children.

No matter what curveballs life will throw your way, sweet baby girl, know that I will be here to carry you through. As your mother, it is my joy to protect you and be here for you through it all.

With love,

Momma

Leave a Reply

