First Father’s Day : Part One.

Dear baby girl,

Father’s Day has not been an easy holiday for your daddy and me the past several years.

I lost your grandpa, my dad, nearly five years ago when he passed away from brain cancer. Your daddy lost his dad, your pap, more than six years ago, to skin cancer. It was a very difficult time for us, both personally and in our marriage. We still miss them and wish they were here to delight in their grandchildren, but we know that they see you from heaven. It is our hope that you will know them as we share stories when you are old enough to understand.

As I write this, your daddy and I have been married for nearly seven years, together for almost 11. Going through losing parents and other family members seemed to be the theme of our marriage the first few years. There was a point when your daddy said he was ready to start adding to instead of subtracting from our family.

We got through the losses together, thankful for each other’s love and support through the process. It seemed as though we would go through similar losses of family members so that we might further understand and be there for one another.

I tell you this not to make you sad, but to help you understand why I write this blog. I don’t know when my day will come, but there are so many things I want to share with you while I can. I tell you these stories now in hopes that you will be able to read them someday.

I look forward to tomorrow, celebrating your daddy’s first Father’s Day. While we will still remember our own dads, we also get to celebrate the day with you. As we remember life passed on, we will also celebrate new life, your life.  I may have a few special things planned for your daddy, and I look forward to spending the day together.

Your daddy is an incredible dad, and seeing him love you makes me fall even more in love with him. I will share with you more tomorrow about him and our special first Father’s Day together.

With love,

Momma

One thought on “First Father’s Day : Part One.

  1. Pingback: First Father’s Day: Part Two. | Dear Baby

Leave a Reply

