Values.

Dear baby,

I came across this beautiful blog today that made me realize the kind of mom that I want to be. And also, the mom that I don’t want to be.

I don’t want to be a distracted parent.

I don’t want to be driven by my schedule, my to-do list, my need to get things done. I mentioned to you earlier that I cannot do it all – and I am okay with that. You’ll learn at way too young of an age that in our world, life is measured not by who you are but by what you accomplish. Value is often measured in productivity and achievements rather than in the character of a person.

But in my eyes, who you are is all that matters. And you will be perfect just as you are.

I don’t want you to be raised by a mom who is a member of five different groups, has an obligation most nights of the week and has been named the “best” at what I do. (Not that I don’t encourage being involved, ambitious and doing your best, but there is such a thing in life called balance.)

As cheesy as it sounds, I want you to see me as the best mom. Because none of those other things change who I am, the kind of mom I want to be.

I don’t want to be distracted or driven by anything but the things that truly matter. I want to be a mom that slows down, takes in every precious moment instead of worrying about dirty dishes or what’s next on my to-do list.

I want to raise a family with your daddy that values God and family above anything. I pray that we are a family that loves God and puts Him first so that we may be a family that loves one another and our neighbors as ourselves. I pray that your daddy and I would teach you values that last a lifetime. And I pray that you will see and know just how much I love you, each and every day.

With love,
Momma

Leave a comment